The bookmakers offering the best 2019 Cricket World Cup betting odds

After 20 years away, the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup is back in England, back where it all started.

Indeed, it’s quite strange looking back at the history of the World Cup and seeing that the first three editions were held in England. Looks a bit selfish to me, and despite holding those three tournaments, and the 1999 Cricket World Cup, England still have never won the competition.

West Indies, India, Australia, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka have all won it, though. Australia 5 times (including 3 of the last 4), India twice, West Indies twice (the first two), Sri Lanka once, and Pakistan once.

Yet despite history being against them, it’s England who are currently Cricket World Cup favourites with the bookies, and it’s not hard to see why: in their last 10 test series, they have lost just one, and that was in a one-off game to, bizarrely, Scotland. In that time England have beaten West Indies twice, Australia twice, Ireland, South Africa, New Zealand, and India, but it’s tournament play where England so often fall down.

In the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy, England as hosts collapsed to 211 in the semi-final vs Pakistan, despite being tournament favourites, while at the 2015 World Cup they were unceremoniously dumped out in the group stages after losing to New Zealand, Australia, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh.

This year it’s going to be even harder to qualify through the group too after the ICC controversially cut the tournament from 14 teams to 10 teams removing almost all the minnows from the tournament and leaving a sole group of 10 with only four advancing to the semi-finals.

The 10 sides in the tournament are hosts England, holders Australia, Bangladesh, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and qualifiers Afghanistan and West Indies who navigated their way past Zimbabwe, Scotland, Ireland, and the UAE in a tightly contested qualifying group.

But it is a shame that the minnows aren’t in this year’s tournament, because they do provide some of the most memorable moments. Who can forget Dwayne Leverock’s incredible one-handed diving catch for Bermuda against India in 2007? Who can forget Kevin O’Brien’s stunning 113 to help Ireland beat England in 2011? Moments like that are often all the more sweeter because you just don’t expect them to happen. So fingers crossed Afghanistan can pull something out the bag this summer, it’s our only hope.

And where can you bet on Afghanistan and find all the best Cricket World Cup betting odds?

Right below, you can

Expertly Reviewed

Expertly Reviewed

Using our attributes in the industry we give you expert advice on the internet's best brands.

Mobile Friendly

Mobile Friendly

All brands are responsive and mobile friendly to give you the best experience while playing.

Fully Licensed

Fully Licensed

Featured brands hold licenses that comply with the gambling commissions giving you peace of mind.

Disclaimer: Online gambling is illegal in some jurisdictions. It is your responsibility to check your local regulations before gambling online. Only players over 18 years old can register at online casinos. Playing online casinos, slots or bingo should remain a form of entertainment.

© 2021 All Rights Reserved.